Namibia to face Zambia in Gold Cup

By Our Correspondent
MirrorSportAfrica, Windhoek

Namibia will start their title defense of the Rugby Gold Cup against Zambia in July next year.

According to Rugby Africa, the body that runs the sport in the African continent the 2019 Rugby Africa Gold Cup will have eight teams divided into two Pools A and B.

The defending champions Namibia spear head Pool A that also has Tunisia, Zimbabwe and the newly promoted Zambia. Arch-rivals Uganda and Kenya are placed in Pool B together with Algeria and Morocco.

Zambia beat Botswana and Madagascar in the Silver Cup South, while Algeria beat Ivory Coast and Senegal in Silver Cup North.

The proposed format will have the pool Matches played in a round robin in two different venues and on different dates within July. Pool A matches will be played between July 6th and 14th, while Pool B matches will take place between 13th and 21st July.

Rugby Africa has asked the participating unions to tender to host the pool stages. Winners of each pool will proceed to the final where the host will be chosen according to the points collected during the Pool Phases. The final will take place in November.

Rugby Africa also made it clear that the dates are tentative and should they change, Rugby Africa will alert the participating Nations.

Tentative Fixture

Pool A Matches:
July 6th
Match 1- Namibia vs Tunisia
Match 2 – Zimbabwe vs Zambia
July 10th
Match 3 – Namibia vs Zambia
Match 4 – Tunisia vs Zimbabwe
July 14th
Match 5 – Namibia vs Zimbabwe
Match 6 – Tunisia vs Zambia
Pool B Matches
July 13th
Match 1 – Kenya vs Uganda
Match 2 – Algeria vs Morocco
July 17th
Match 3 – Kenya vs Morocco
Match 4 – Algeria vs Uganda
July 21st
Match 5 – Kenya vs Algeria
Match 6 – Uganda vs Morocco


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password